Skip to product information
1 of 2

The Counts

What's Up Front That-Counts

What's Up Front That-Counts

Regular price $25.00
Regular price Sale price $25.00
On sale Sold out

In 1971, after dropping “Fabulous” from their moniker, The Counts delivered their first full-length platter for Westbound. What’s Up Front That-Counts is indisputably one of the funkiest albums of all time. The conga-led grooves, impassioned vocals and strutting in-the-pocket arrangements are as infectious as they are groovy. This seminal, forward-thinking album is an indispensable soundtrack perfectly reflecting the decade that followed, and is one of the brightest jewels in the Westbound crown. Included in this release are 3 bonus tracks that were previously unissued.

Working with the original Westbound Records master tapes at the iconic 54 Sound studio in Detroit, these legendary recordings have been remastered by award winning engineer Dave Gardner with restoration and tape transfers by archival specialist Catherine Vericolli, and additional engineering assistance from in-house 54 Sound engineer Nick King.

Officially out November 10, 2023

A1 What's Up Front That-Counts
A2 Rhythm Changes
A3 Thinking Single
A4 Why Not Start All Over Again
B1 Pack Of Lies
B2 Bills
B3 Rhythm Changes Reprise*
B4 Shortsville*
B5 I Know Why*
*previously unissued

View full details